Lesson 1: Publishing Rights

Image

As I have just started down the path of trying to pursue creative writing I am bound to get tripped up here and there.  This happened yesterday for the first time and I thought I would share my lesson here.

I have been excitedly posting my stories on this blog for the past couple of days and at the same time I have been investigating magazines and contests to send my stories off to.  In the process of seeking out these various avenues for potential publication I have discovered that most (although not all) magazines want ‘first electronic publishing rights’.  This means that publishing stories on my blog is a no-no if I want to send them out for potential publication.

At first this made me a bit sad.  I enjoy the idea of publishing my stories as I go for people to enjoy on my blog.  However, the more I thought about it the more I realized that I would be just as happy blogging about writing in general, posting older pieces (and new pieces that I don’t intend to publish) as well as writing about my thoughts and feelings, so this blog can have a chance to really live up to it’s title ‘Happy Musings’.

I will continue to write stories based on daily prompts received from sarahselecky.com and if I ever get any of them published, I can assure you, this is the first place I will announce it.  In the meantime, I will continue to post about lessons learned on the road to (hopefully) becoming a published writer!

Leave a Reply

