Stop & Go – On being a fast writer

Image

I’m a fast writer.

For the most part, when I get an idea in my head I just go, go go and I don’t want to stop until it’s done.  Some people think this isn’t always a good thing.  I’ve had people tell me to take my time with my short stories (like weeks or months) and I’m just thinking ‘What?! Why?! But I’m on a roll, I’m in the zone, I’m feeling the flow, I’m rocking this!’

Everyone writes at a different pace though, and my pace just happens to be fast and furious.  Like I’ve got a lifetime of stories all pent up in there and I can’t get them down fast enough.  And that’s okay.  It’s okay to write at whatever pace you want to, take your time or just let it pour out onto the page.  It’s all good.

All that being said I find sometimes, as I’m careening along the highway of my novel (both metaphorically and literally as my protagonist is traveling), there are moments where I just need to take a deep breath.  It’s not a slow down, it’s more of a brakes-on-full-stop.  I need to workout, eat a meal, or go for a walk and just think.

Maybe it’s that my protagonist has found herself in the wrong location, or maybe it’s the right place but the wrong time.  Maybe things have gotten too complicated, (I rarely find they get too simple), too extravagant, too obvious.  Something just doesn’t feel right.  As I haven’t really planned this particular story ahead of time, it could be one of a million things and I have to be okay with the halt in my speedy forward momentum.

Sometimes it’s a tough pill to swallow, when you’re excited about life and writing and everything so much that you just want to get it all out there, taking a moment can be a brutal concept.  Brutal?  Yes.  Necessary?  Sometimes.

A lot can happen in a five minute break, an hour long break or gods forbid a day or two.  You can learn so much in such a short period of time that it might even effect your style or the voice of your character.  So if you need to stop at any point, just read from a few chapters back to make sure you get back into the voice, then write like hell!

I’m a fast writer, and that’s okay.  I just have to learn to accept that sometimes my stories can’t keep up and need to take a little pit-stop before they can go again.

Are you a fast writer?  A slow writer?  What are your challenges with speed?

2 thoughts on “Stop & Go – On being a fast writer

Leave a Reply

