Rocking my goals

Image

This is a post for www.writesofluid.com’s blog writing challenge.  One blog post a day for all of June!  Check it out at the website or on twitter: @sofluid or #wpad!

* * *

It’s funny how time slips by isn’t it?

We work and play and things keep moving forward and it’s easy to lose track of everything that’s going on.  If we don’t stop for a moment and take stock (at least once in awhile) it’s easy to just let things happen, as opposed to making them happen.

I often find I have unwritten goals.  Intentions to get things done that I conspicuously leave vague.  Maybe it’s that I think, if I commit, I’ll only let myself down.  Maybe I think it’s too much pressure, or that I’m aiming too high.

But the truth of the matter is that I work better with goals.  Timelines are my friend.  I love them, and the tighter the timeline the better.  If I’m left to my own devices I will have trouble opening that document, or sitting down to the work I ought to be doing, but if I set goals and limits for myself, I thrive.

It might seem a bit of a contradiction to set rigid goals for oneself, as the main enforcer is also the procrastinator, but I find if I’ve said it out loud or committed on paper than I am far more likely to get it done.

So here they are, my goals for this month:

1) To finish my novel to the point of sending it to beta readers.
2) To get at least one more client for my burgeoning freelance corporate copywriting career.
3) To finish my query letter for my novel and find at least five agents to query when the novel is ready to go.
4) To decide on my next novel (at least a basic story).
5) To maintain the highest possible level of awesomeness.

There, I said it and, of course, the fact that I have said it publicly means I will have to get it all done even more than if I’d just said it in my head…right?

What are your goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

