What I do best

Image

 

This is a post for www.writesofluid.com’s blog writing challenge.  One blog post a day for all of June!  Check it out at the website or on twitter: @sofluid or #wpad!

* *

The short:  I do writing best.  Of all the things I have ever done and ever tried, writing feels the best and the most natural.  It is the thing that has always felt that way, no matter how much I tried to ignore it.

The long:  Ben and I were strolling along the beach the other day, as we often do, and we were discussing process.  Ben’s process of video editing is not all that dissimilar from my process of writing, yet we are both confounded by one another’s abilities.  Sometimes, I confess, I am also confounded by my own abilities.

My process, in theory, is simple.  I learn about the essence of a thing.  The story I need to tell, the language I need to use to tell it, the feelings and messages I need to get across.  I absorb everything I can around the piece, be it novel or website, event or video, then it rattles around in my brain.  This is the part that is most bewildering, the rattling.  I’m not actually sure what it does up there.  It swims and swirls amongst the grey matter and electrical impulses and chemical cascades. It does all this then comes out the other end as words.  Orderly, appropriate, well-dressed (sometimes beautiful)  sentences and paragraphs marching right from my brain onto the page. Simple right?  I guess.  I mean I feel it, I go through it and it happens, but I’m not entirely sure why or how.

The process itself and the outcome are shocking to Ben, just as his process and outcome shocks me.  We look at each other across the office and think ‘how does s/he do that?” so that fact alone makes me think it is something I do well, best even.

But all that’s pretty broad, pretty ethereal even.  Maybe a little woo woo?  Who’s really here to hear me say ‘it’s just a feeling dude…I just like…feel the words…”?

So let’s get specific:

I thrive at imagery and brevity.  Vivid imagery conjured in short, sweet ways that leave you with just enough to set the scene, but not so much that your imagination doesn’t have to do a little work.

I love the challenge of pairing information with beauty.  This shines through in my corporate work more than anywhere else.

I excel at unstructured wordplay.  I used to be a free spirit, I guess I still am a bit.  I love a basic story idea that I can run with and see where it takes me.  I love to be surprised by my characters and the choices they make.

I adore the craft of writing.  Fitting words together in the right way is like a puzzle that is completely rewarding to solve.  It just feels good.

So that’s me…what about you?

Leave a Reply

