The Finished Book Itch

Image

Finishing a book makes me itchy, restless, ready for the next thing.

It was just the first draft (of my third book) and it was just yesterday I completed it, but today I’m going a bit nuts.  I want to edit, but I want to take a break.  I want to write something new, but I want to finish the old one first.  Also I don’t want to start anything brand new because I’m launching into NaNoWriMo in a couple of weeks and although I write fast, I don’t think I write that fast.

It’s all very distracting, but the thing is it’s not actually distracting me from anything.  I had a list of things I needed to do once I’d finished the book.  I did them all in two hours.

I ate lunch, took a Bugs Bunny selfie (see above), then I was so impatient to write something, I decided on this blog post.

I feel as though I’ve been neglecting the blog, which is a shame, but in the past couple months that I’ve been neglecting the blog I’ve written two books, so it’s not all bad!

So the itch.  It’s kind of like a tingling in my fingers.  A searching feeling in my brain like I’m scanning for something I’m not quite sure of.  A couple short story ideas are floating to the surface, ideas I tucked away for later, but everything feels very absent, and itchy.

Here’s what happens when I get the itch:

– I tweet more…pictures of my lunch anyone?

– I blog more, in a more spontaneous way…this blog post is a perfect example, it’s what I’m thinking and feeling.  Right. Now.

– I bug Ben more…taps, pokes, kisses, repeating his name over and over…and over.

– I get comment-y…I have a deep desire to comment on everyone’s Facebook posts.

– I get the deep urge to clean things (and throw things out)…cleaning’s kind of my default, cleaning or working out.

– I crave more exercise…what’s better for the restless itch I ask you?

– I try to find things to organize…which is hard when everything’s already organized.

Damn the itch!

Honestly, after a moment’s reflection, I think it might have something to do with my desire to be doing something useful at all times.  I don’t want to ‘waste time’.  It makes it difficult for me to relax in general and maybe that’s a bad thing.  It’s certainly good when there’s writing to do, because I will get that shit done, but the part I really suck at is taking a break to relax.  I guess I could try to change my personality.  You know, try to chill out a bit and not be so frantic to move on to the next thing, but it’s just who I am.  So in the meantime…more blog posts and twitter pics for everyone!

Do you get the itch?  What do you do to alleviate it?

4 thoughts on “The Finished Book Itch

  1. I deal with the itch by researching for a new project. I don’t write anything but I start drafting character descriptions etc. I’m doing NaNoWriMo too and I’m just scribbling notes everywhere, trying not to get in too deep into anything new.

  2. Is that a real carrot or did you just happen to have the perfect prop at your fingertips? In any event, the picture is adorable and there isn’t too much you can do about being an A-type personality. Just enjoy the weekend though Star!!!

    Cheers
    Shari

Leave a Reply

