Story Notes: Hungry

Chewing

My story ‘Hungry’ was published yesterday in Black Treacle Magazine and I was so pleased to be included with the other wonderful stories in issue # 6!

To read my full story, you can head over to the Black Treacle website and download the magazine in Kindle, E-Pub or .PDF format.

Because I love to know about the origins of a story from the writer’s perspective, I thought I would share some notes about this story with you.

Spoiler Alert:  There are spoilers in the story notes below.  So if you want to read the story with fresh eyes check it out first at Black Treacle before reading the notes.

About ‘Hungry’

The subject of this story is particularly personal to me.

I wanted to write something that would help me explore my own lifelong body dysmorphic issues and my obese-phobia.  The thing is that I think I’m fat.  Actually, what I should say is that I feel I’m fat.  I know logically that I’m not, but for some reason the feeling plagues me pretty consistently.  I have a family history of overeating/obesity and I think that has had a negative effect on me and the way I view myself.

So in a way this story is a combination of exploring two different fears of mine; obesity and addiction.

I wanted to understand and think about the way a person might feel to be trapped in a food-related addiction and to have their self-image distorted by their own feelings relating to a lack of control.  I know that in the past reading and writing has opened my eyes to other perspectives and I wanted to allow myself to feel what being trapped in a food addicted mindset must be like.  The idea of addiction to anything scares me, but food related addictions I find even more difficult to ponder because food is something you have to eat to live and so can’t avoid even if you want to.

My thoughts on the matter manifested in the form of a demon because I felt he represented the feeling of external pressure some might feel when they get trapped in addictions.  Even if the real problem is coming from inside, I can see how it would be easy to feel as though it was external; a creature haunting you, a demon following you around.

I found it to be an enlightening and interesting journey to write this story and my hope is that readers will take some time to think about how difficult it is to fight the demons that plague anyone who suffers from an addiction, food related or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

