Story Notes – Double Stuffed Oreo

Image

My story ‘Double Stuffed Oreo’ was published on Friday on ExFic.  It’s a great site with some amazing surreal stories and poems and I was thrilled to be included.

To read the story just head on over to ExFic and have a gander!

Because I love to know about the origins of a story from the writer’s perspective, I thought I would share some notes about this story with you.

Spoiler Alert:  There are spoilers in the story notes below.  So if you want to read the story with fresh eyes check it out first at ExFic before reading the notes.

About ‘Double Stuffed Oreo’

When I first started writing in earnest I decided to write a story a day based on prompts by Sarah Selecky.  It was a great way to get the ball rolling and come up with quick ideas that sometimes turned into something more.  So Double Stuffed Oreo is one of my first stories and it was based on a prompt that suggested a format similar to a story published in the New Yorker awhile back called Here We Aren’t, So Quickly.   

Double Stuffed Oreo was entirely stream of consciousness and it started with the iconic cookie because Ben and I had just been eating them.  I chose to start and end on the cookie because I wanted the story to feel as though an entire wild relationship had transpired between bites, a whole life in a moment.

What I love about the story is that each line holds a brand new story.  I loved it so much in fact that I started to build other stories out of each of the individual lines.  So now I have stories to match the following lines:

I sank my teeth into a stone and it cracked.
You blew the stars out like candles, but it wasn’t your birthday.
You didn’t know how to ease my pain, so you cast a circle made of earth.
I learned to speak dove and cooed over a lunch of bird seed and pink cupcakes.
I put a tag on an empty bottle and sold it as enlightenment.

I have plans to write a poem, story, micro-fiction or list for each of the lines in this story and eventually make them into a book.  It’s a bit ambitious, but I think I can eventually pull it off.  

I love writing surreal and magic realism and I hope you enjoy reading the story as much as I loved writing it! 

Leave a Reply

