Call for Submissions: Inspiration Series

Image

Inspiration is a fascinating thing.  Sometimes it comes in waves, sometimes in a steady stream.  Some people have complete control over it while others personify it as a fickle muse, appearing and disappearing as it wants, on its own schedule.  With the launch of the Inspiration Series I’m looking for personal stories of writer’s inspiration.  I want to understand the creative process from an individual perspective and to explore the similarities and differences in the experience of writing inspiration.

I’m seeking essays, anecdotes, personal stories or poetry that elucidate the moment of inspiration.  I want to hear about your process, feelings, theories, personifications, struggles and victories in the realm of inspiration.

Details

Here’s how it will work:

1) You submit!
2) I’ll start the series and post a new writer’s piece every Monday (to offer inspiration for the week ahead) until all the submissions have been posted (or people stop sending me submissions).  I will post them in the order they have been received.
3) All submissions will be posted at www.starspider.ca (the Happy Musings blog) and I’ll tweet each post with the hashtag #museinspirationseries from my twitter account @MusingStar.
4) Upon completion of the series I’ll create a summary post where I discuss the series and link all the posts in a table of contents.

Deadline: Ongoing

Contact: E-mail submissions in the body of the message (no attachments please) to: madamspider at gmail dot com with the subject line: Inspiration Series.

Content: Please include your submission with a title (max 1000 words), your bio (max 100 words) and any links to twitter, websites/blogs & facebook you want to include.  Also note that it is limited to one post per writer.

Rights:  You retain all rights to your words at all times.  Your submission will technically count as a guest post on the Happy Musings blog.

Payment:  Unfortunately this is an non-paying gig, however I will be including your bio and links in the post, so hopefully that can send some traffic your way!

Rejections/editing:  There are no rejections here!  I will be reading every piece first and correcting any grammatical errors, but other than that I want your pure, unadulterated thoughts and feelings on your own well-springs of inspiration.

Why:  I love inspiration and creativity and I find it fascinating.  I love talking to other writers about their process and the moments that initiate their acts of creation.  I have heard inspiration described in so many ways and I love the almost spiritual nature of it.  Because of all this and my ongoing desire to inspire people to be creative I wanted to provide a place for people to muse about their muses and collectively explore our shared moments of inspiration.

I look forward to reading your words!

6 thoughts on “Call for Submissions: Inspiration Series

Leave a Reply

