Story Notes – Muriel & Ryan

Muriel & Ryan

My story ‘Muriel & Ryan’ was published this week on Close to the Bone, Near to the Knuckle.  It’s a great site with some down and dirty stories and I was so happy to have my work published there!

To read the story just head on over to Close to the Bone and check it out!

Because I love to know about the origins of a story from the writer’s perspective, I thought I would share some notes about this story with you.

Spoiler Alert:  There are spoilers in the story notes below.  So if you want to read the story with fresh eyes check it out first at Close to the Bone before reading the notes.

About ‘Muriel & Ryan’

I wanted to explore the idea of hunting for a mate from a slightly different perspective.  Sometimes it’s seen as a game to people; just find the person who matches your criteria and dive in.  Sometimes it’s fast, rough and predatory.  For me it was.  I knew exactly what I was looking and in a way, like Muriel, I found myself merging to some degree with the person I ultimately chose.

I like Muriel because she knows what she wants and takes it, she’s in control and she’s world weary and bad ass.  I like Ryan because he’s kind of innocent, kind of stereotypical and kind of a dumb-ass—a lost soul just like all of us.

This is the first story I’ve tried with an internal monologue where the characters are narrating and talking to themselves.  It was a hard one to pull off because sometimes I felt it was a little forced, but I always like to try new things and in this case I’m glad I did!

Leave a Reply

