Story Notes: ‘Of Gods and Curtains’

il_340x270.511463100_4ox5

My story ‘Of Gods and Curtains’ was published this week in Apeiron Review, a lovely magazine filled with fabulous prose, pictures and poetry. I was thrilled to be included in Issue 7.

To read the story just head on over to Apeiron Review and check it out!

Because I love to know about the origins of a story from the writer’s perspective, I thought I would share some notes about this story with you.

Spoiler Alert: There are spoilers in the story notes below. So if you want to read the story with fresh eyes check it out first at Apeiron Review before reading the notes.

About ‘Of Gods and Curtains’

We all have stories to tell and this is one of mine. It’s on repeat in my head as I struggle to find various ways to express it. Maybe to exorcise it. Maybe to simply see it from a new angle. It always comes out different, fictitious when I write it, but it’s always got that core of truth.


This is a story that’s hard for me to look in the eye. It came from the desire to have the story out in the open and blossomed with the line ‘Your Idols are crumbling, you have put them so high on their pedestals you can’t see the cracks.’

Sometimes all you need is a single thought to open up a wound.

People sometimes ask me why I feel the need to tell this story. Why I keep coming back to it over and over even though it’s hard and I think it’s mostly because I feel a responsibility to share my struggles with others so that they can know they’re not alone. I want people to know that there is help out there when you’re faltering, there are vets with golden rings who can help patch you up and help you make yourself whole. People who can help you see the sky.

I encourage anyone with a black river to seek help.

Another reason I keep returning to the story is because it scares me and the more something scares me the more I want to write it. Because if it means something to me, I think it might just mean something to someone else too.

Leave a Reply

