Story Notes: The Giver

Subway

My story ‘The Giver’ was published this week in Bitterzoet Magazine.  There were so many wonderful stories and poems in this issue of Bitterzoet and I was totally honoured to be included.

To read the story just head on over to Bitterzoet and check it out!

Because I love to know about the origins of a story from the writer’s perspective, I thought I would share some notes about this story with you.

Spoiler Alert: There are spoilers in the story notes below. So if you want to read the story with fresh eyes check it out first at Bitterzoet before reading the notes.

About ‘The Giver

This story came from the idea that every little bit we do makes a difference; a smile, a kind word, a small confession.  Even the tiniest things can make a huge difference in someone’s day, or even their lives.

 I often walk around feeling like I’m insulated, like I’m living life in a vacuum.  It’s so easy to forget or not even realize the impact I have on others.  But by looking at the impact others have on me, I can extrapolate, calculate the possibility that when I make eye contact on the subway, say hi to a stranger, offer a bit of my attention, it does make a difference.

I don’t want to live in a world where we are all alone, where our actions don’t have consequences.  The girl in ‘The Giver’ offered bits of herself, seemingly inconsequential, in order to provide a larger inspiration, or a sort of relief to the world around her.

Ultimately, I think that’s what I strive for in my writing, and maybe all writers do.  Offering a bit of ourselves so everyone else can remember they’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

